Research/Writing Group Committee

The Research/Writing Group(RWG) focuses on 1-on-1 and small-group mentoring in research and publication at the summer CWPA conference. This committee is responsible for recruiting facilitators and participants and promoting the RWG event.

Clare Russell (Chair), Wayne State University

Clare Russell is a fifth and final year doctoral student at Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan. Her dissertation focuses on writing pedagogy education, specifically curricular development in the teaching practicum for new college writing instructors. Clare has been an active member of WPA-GO since beginning her adventure in graduate school and considers her service an important catalyst her growth as a scholar, instructor, and colleague!

Kathryn Van Zanen, University of Michigan

Kathryn Van Zanen is a first year doctoral student in the University of Michigan’s Joint Program in English and Education. Her research interests include writing as social action, civic engagement, and the construction of authority in first year composition.

Mandy Olejnik, Miami University

Mandy Olejnik is a PhD student in composition and rhetoric at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. She is assistant director of the Howe Center for Business Writing and teaches in the English department. Her research interests include undergraduate writing majors, civic engagement, transfer, threshold concept theory, and writing program administration. She also serves as graduate co-editor of The Peer Review writing center journal and as editorial assistant for Composition Forum.